Teacher Education: Half-Way There

Eight months  down for my Bachelor of Education, eight to go (including four months of practicum).

Here are three notable courses I’ve taken. For the sake of objectivity, I did not include my methodology courses, and I also have tried to separate the individuality of the professor from the course material, not an easy thing to do.

  • Integrated Technology – Maybe I’m a little biased on this one, but I do feel the course is very useful for new teachers.  The course had a good balance between practical and academic, and whether a teacher decides to take advantage of ideas like blogging, podcasting, wikiing, etc., it’s good to have this exposure and realize these options exist.
  • Teaching through Drama –  Coming from a math and computer science background, I was a little out of my normal depth taking this course. Perhaps for that reason, I  think this course was extremely useful. Again, I think this course offered a good balance between practical and academic, and I can immediately see how everything that was covered in this course could be applied at the elementary school level.  It also gave me food for thought how it might be applied to secondary school, and in particular,  be able to teach kinesthetic learners.
  • Principles and Practices of Secondary Ed. – This was a very academic class focusing on the wider debates and issues surrounding secondary education such as cultural and gender issues, and purpose of education and schooling.  I’m afraid I’m mostly alone among classmates  I have spoken to about this course, most preferring the more methodological classes.  It probably helps that I am very outspoken in class.  I believe it’s important to question your fundamental assumptions about the public education system, your motivations for being a part of it, and how it may conflict with others’ viewpoints.
About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

