Practicum: Day One

I don’t really have much of anything of substance to post at the moment, but I had my first practicum day today and I at least wanted to make a note about it.

I had done a few observation days with the same classes, Grade 9 math & health, so I already had an idea what to expect going into it. Today, I just observed some more and met and discussed what I was going to do with my cooperating teacher and my supervisor.

My cooperating teacher is going to ease me into it and I’m not going to have a significant teaching portion until at least next week. On one hand, that’s good because it gives me a little time to build up some confidence and spend some time making some lessons. On the other hand, I kind of feel like a stranger and a guest in both the classroom and the school rather than someone actively part of it, and I think I’ll only shake that feeling by getting the ball rolling.

About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

