Practicum Week #6

This was my final week at the junior high level and I’m off to a high-school next week.  Six weeks is a short period and it was made shorter because of the snow days, exams, job fair, and three days of sickness. However, as short as the period was, overall, I’m pleased with my experience.

I only was there long enough to get a taste of a junior high routine. Still, I know what I need to work on, and I have tons of ideas how to move forward.  The best thing about the six weeks happened yesterday. My co-operating teacher had our homeroom students write a reflection letter on my teaching and she made a booklet out of them.  All the students had good things to say, and a couple provided me really good feedback how I could improve. It was such a nice thing to take away from my six weeks at the school, and it’s really motivated me to continue!

The one thing I really hoped to have happen was a class where I had the students really excited about what they were learning. I tried a couple different activities but never had a moment when I felt that a student had just made an amazing connection. It’s a hard thing to pull off, especially in math, but it’s a huge motivation for me to go into teaching.

Anyways, all in all, it was a good experience. I’m off to high-school this week, and I’m nervous on two accounts. It’s my old high-school that I graduated from and I haven’t seen any of my old teachers since I’ve left.  Also, it’s been a long time since I’ve worked with that age group. I don’t think it will be a huge jump from Grade 9 students, but still, I’m nervous about it. However it’s a fresh start, and I’m going to be open-minded and I expect a great experience out of it. The big thing for me is to continue to focus on the bigger picture and not sweat the small things.

About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

