Weird Days

There are known knowns; there are things we know we know.
We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns – there are things we do not know we don’t know. – Donald Rumsfeld

I had my supervisor in evaluating me today, and I know I shouldn’t get worked up about these things, but I do. Real or perceived, the stakes feel very high for me in such a tight job market, and I really want to shine. That hasn’t happened.

I over-prepared for this lesson. I had a back-up if the LCD projector broke. I made sure I had board-markers and extra pencils and pencil sharpeners if students didn’t bring their own. What I didn’t prepare for was today.

Setting the tone, I stubbed my toe stepping out of the shower and was hobbling around all day. I start off my lesson, about 5 minutes into it, and already I feel like I’ve been up in front teaching for an hour.  The fire alarm goes off and everyone goes outside including me and my supervisor. The chatter outside was that someone had called in a bomb threat, and time goes by with us all freezing outside.  By the time we get back inside, there’s only about 20 minutes left in my lesson. The students settle down surprisingly quickly considering the ongoing drama, and then it’s dead silence. The “warm-up” review questions I had planned taking the first 10 minutes, ended up taking the whole class, with me at the front yammering away and poking and prodding the students to get answers . Sigh, definitely not my best lesson.

Anyways, my supervisor takes off a couple minutes early because he has to supervise another student-teacher in the same school. I’m supposed to meet him in a hour during lunch hour, but then during the next class, while he was supervising the other student teacher, the fire alarm goes off again! This time someone set a fire in the bathroom, and the result is we’re all sent home for the day.

There is a silver lining. I spoke to my supervisor on the phone and he wasn’t too concerned about it and he told me he has enough to write me a report. Expect the unexpected.  I’m just glad today is over.

About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weird Days

  1. Sounds like a most stressful day! A few weeks ago, we had an impromptu fire drill in one class period and a disaster preparedness drill in another class period on the same day. And, of course this had to happen on a day when my cooperating teacher wasn’t there. So, the substitute was looking at me to figure our what we were supposed to do… And, I had the hardest time getting the students back on task after that. I can’t imagine having something like that happen while my supervisor was there.

    Remember: tomorrow is a new day!

Leave a Reply

