The ironies of life

About the time I knew I was quitting my job to go back to school, I was passing by a business hotel by my workplace. Despite not doing any business traveling myself in the current position I was in, I still was almost nostalgic about it. My days of corporate travel are over, I thought, at least for a long time. No more little chocolates on my pillows,  car rentals,, flight delays, chain restaurant food, and expense claims.

So it was with a tad irony that last summer, almost exactly one year later,  my part-time job sent me up to Halifax for training and they set me up in the exact same hotel! Now I’m going back up again this week (and missing two teaching days because of it).  It’s not the same hotel, but still, this is actually two business trips more than I made in the nearly three years I had worked at my last job.

Apparently teachers travel too, a bit. One teacher in my department recently came back from a conference in San Francisco.  This shocked me for some reason. I figured yeah, teaching is a profession and there is going to be PD, but I thought it would be more localized. I still think that’s true, but there are more exceptions to that than I expected.

About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

