Practicum Week 14 & 15 (Final)

My practicum is now all over but the crying. Now it’s time for the hardest part, getting a job.

My last two weeks went by very smoothly. So smoothly, that I left with heavy nostalgia on Friday. I love teaching. I love talking about teaching. I love the routine of a classroom schedule. I love challenging myself to learn more, and to be a better teacher. I love confronting my assumptions about how I understand what I’m teaching and how it differs from how my students understand it.  I love helping young people make deep connections and develop confidence.

I’m not looking forward to attending classes again. It’s not that I don’t think I have anything to learn, I just don’t think at this point in my career it’s the best path  for personal improvement and there’s going to be a huge element of “going through the motions” this summer. However, it’s not like I have a choice in the matter, and I suppose it’s at least a chance to rewind and think about things with a fresh start.

Reflecting on these last 15 weeks I’ve given myself three easy goals for going forward.

1. Classroom Management – I want to set and develop expectations early, and be more consistent.

2. Teaching Math – I want to get better at writing notes on the board or compensate more for my inability to write neat notes by better integrating technology.

3. Teaching Design – If I ever teach this class again, I want to move away from just teaching “technical” aspects to also having more reflective activities. For example, I assigned a webpage project, and I felt the students did fairly well on it, but in hindsight, I didn’t develop an appreciation of design principles enough before jumping into the final project.  A lot of what I was looking for didn’t happen, such as students being consistent in their design layouts, re-using code, etc.

For now, it’s all over. For the next four months the focus is going to be on my own schooling and my second job. I’ll continue to update this blog through the summer, but maybe not as frequently. I hope in September I’ll be in front of a classroom again and will have a lot more to share.

About James C.

A pre-service teacher about to start his first teaching practicum.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practicum Week 14 & 15 (Final)

  1. Good luck with the job search! I love how you set goals for moving forward. I’m totally going to steal this idea after I finish with my last week of student teaching.

Leave a Reply

